Aryeh Nussbaum Cohen Sings Bach

November 3–6 2023

Aryeh Nussbaum Cohen

BACH Ich habe genug, Cantata 82
BACH Widerstehe doch der Sünde, Cantata 54
BACH Concerto in C Minor for Oboe and Violin
MUFFAT Concerto Grosso in G Major

Aryeh Nussbaum Cohen, countertenor
Stephen Hammer, oboe • Tomà Iliev, violin
American Bach Soloists
Jeffrey Thomas, conductor

When & Where

Friday November 3 2023 8:00 p.m.
St. Stephen's Church, 3 Bayview Avenue, Belvedere

Saturday November 4 2023 7:00 p.m.
St. Mark's Episcopal Church, 2300 Bancroft Way, Berkeley

Sunday November 5 2023 4:00 p.m.
St. Mark's Church, 1111 O'Farrell Street, San Francisco

Monday November 6 2023 7:00 p.m.
Davis Community Church, 412 C Street, Davis

The program will last approximately 1 hour & 45 minutes including one intermission.

About the Music

With perhaps the most startling initial chord in any of Bach's compositions, the early cantata Widerstehe doch der Sünde ("Stand steadfast against transgression") is a work of outstanding sonority and chromatic harmony. Bach called upon his youthful inspiration and contrapuntal mastery to create a soul-stirring and compelling admonishment to do good.

Unequivocally one of Bach's most moving and haunting solo cantatas, Ich habe genug ("I have enough") presents a soul who has experienced life's blessings and who, having seen and felt enlightenment, is ready to pass into the next realm, rejoicing in his readiness. The music tugs on our empathy and compassion while, at the same time, gently encourages our own wishes for bliss.

Perfectly paired with Bach's cantatas, the program also includes the dynamic Concerto in C Minor for Oboe & Violin and the richly sonorous Concerto Grosso in G Major by Georg Muffat.

About the Artist 

"Extravagantly gifted... poised to redefine what’s possible for singers of this distinctive voice type" — San Francisco Chronicle

"A redefining force in the countertenor field" — Limelight

"A rising star... ravishing... otherworldly" — Opera News

"A vocal wonder" — Houston Press

Learn More about the Music

45 minutes prior to these performances, ticket holders can enjoy a free and informative lecture given by an ABS musician. 


P.O. Box 421986
San Francisco CA 94142


Phone: +1 (415) 621 7900 
Fax: +1 (415) 621 7920