APRIL 2016

Easter & Ascension Oratorios

Bach: Easter Oratorio
Buxtehude: Heut triumphieret Gottes Sohn
Bach: Ascension Oratorio
Kuhnau: Ihr Himmel jubiliert von oben

Friday April 22 2016 8:00 pm - St. Stephen’s Church, Belvedere
Saturday April 23 2016 8:00 pm - First Congregational Church, Berkeley
Sunday April 24 2016 4:00 pm - St. Mark’s Lutheran Church, San Francisco
Monday April 25 2016 7:00 pm - Davis Community Church, Davis

Clara Rottsolk soprano
Eric Jurenas countertenor
Zachary Wilder tenor
Joshua Copeland bass
Jeffrey Thomas conductor

Bach composed impressive oratorios for three important occasions within the Lutheran calendar: Christmas, Easter, and the Feast of the Ascension. Completing the trilogy begun in December (see December 12-13 for “Christmas Oratorio”), ABS will perform the composer’s exuberant “Easter Oratorio” (Oster-Oratorium, BWV 249) and “Ascension Oratorio” (Lobet Gott in seinen Reichen, BWV 11). Pulling out all the stops for these jubilant works—trumpets, timpani, flutes, oboes, recorders, strings, and voices—Bach composed joyful, extroverted music, tempered by exquisite moments of reflective calm. Along with these masterworks from Bach’s mature years in Leipzig, Thomas and his ABS forces will perform an Ascension cantata by Bach’s predecessor Johann Kuhnau and Heut triumphieret Gottes Sohn (“Today God’s Son Triumphs”), a work for Easter by one of Bach’s important musical influences, Dieterich Buxtehude. [More information in Jeff McMillan's blog article.]

“Jeffrey Thomas, the company’s co-founder and longtime artistic and music director, led a performance of such vigor and dramatic urgency”

San Francisco Chronicle

“Spectacle at its most sumptuous … last night’s singing, was, indeed, rapturously beautiful”


Subscribers receive our best discount - 15% SAVINGS
To receive a Season Brochure CLICK HERE.

Programs and Artists subject to change.






Read the Program Booklet

Read about our
2015-16 Season


Home Page | Contact | Tickets | Press Room | Sign up for eNews | © American Bach Soloists. All rights reserved. Bookmark and Share